Banafsheh’s layers ! Style, Fashion and what it means to me!

We have begun! The project began over a year ago . I thought of photographing women who have inspired and influenced me most in this lifetime! But it got difficult! It was called ” My Friends, My Closet ” ..It got difficult not because of different sizes of all the women I love and cherish but because of location! Hard to nail when some are living far from my closet!

The women who I have photographed so far will be included in the book.

https://banafshehe.wordpress.com/2012/10/16/my-friends-my-closet/

So I decided to continue to photograph this adventure of ” my closet” and turning the camera to myself!

IMG_20140610_193723 (1)
IMG_20140610_213944

I don’t have a name for the project as of yet ! But one thing I’m certain of , the project is dedicated to my mother . It was mom who taught me that style is a choice !  Style is not just fashion ! Style is something you are born with. Style is one’s personality and the layers that represent you and however you desire!

IMG_20140610_133459
IMG_20140610_203511

Style is your own signature ! Style is an appreciation …

IMG_20140610_133930

In this journey  although I have access to great and good , known and unknown photographers , I  picked a young and full of life photographer..This young woman and I began a few days ago and it went smooth ! I picked her because she is eager to learn ..Because she is growing to love and understand the clothing we put on isn’t just about the latest fashion..Because she is creative and smart ..I’m happy and I believe she is too..Because she has wings and wants to fly higher . Because this project is about empowering women !

IMG_20140610_203318

And my mother is happy , now thats BIG !  Her stories ( mom’s ) will be added to the book/project ..Stories of a woman growing up in Iran and what clothing meant to her..I hope I will do justice to a part of my mother’s life ..

( Mom and dad , late 70’s , early 80’s )

945442_10151720524923969_1951723132_n

Style to me is a philosophy ..A way I tell my tales , my stories ..

IMG_20140610_132441
On Pinterest :

 

Leave a Reply

