Call it wisdom!

This year the ground is not filled with snow and the air is not as cold ..But do you think of these passing moments of beauty ..Do you ever think about the lost momentum when you wished to devour a moment and then its gone ..Moments do go by whether you like if or not ! A deep look at the constant motion of life is crucial to the idea of great living and not just surviving these moments , don’t you think ? How do you measure your own life so far ?

10606037_10153004555308969_8348894050665637795_n

Another Christmas is approaching , for me it means the end one year , if we count the years !And I have celebrated it perhaps just like you in so many different places and people. The approaching Christmas of this year has brought a few conclusions in my mind, at least  for this year!

374260_530906840275522_1066982944_n

I have lived my life mainly overseas, but I was raised in Iran ! Some may think well since I’m from Iran, what do I know about Christmas ..Little they know I grew up not only in a country with Christianity being the second largest religion in Iran ( yes to this day also) ..I also went to a French school since I was 3 then a few years to full-blown Catholic school where indeed Christmas was celebrated hardcore and off to boarding School and college ( all themed around Christianity except the first two parts living in Iran where both were celebrated in the modern society )  . My parents would let me decorate our very live Ornamental Pine tree every year until the tree was transferred outside and it got so tall that I could not reach anymore !  I had a sweet relationship with trees and never understood why people celebrate around dead trees on Christmas days!  In Iran we celebrate our New year ( Norouz) with everything alive and new !

734484_10151604558903969_1145599355_n

Then I thought what a cruel way of celebrating the Christ who was born in July !!!! But guess what, these days I ‘m a confirmed believer people do and believe whatever serves them right ! No matter what ! Even if you give them facts.. I mean just this morning dude I know inbox me back and forth about half of his face in one of my pictures and wants it removed. The image is not even tagged and he is not recognizable..And NOT one soul can see who it is since it doesn’t even look like him! But the point is people are more concerned about Bullshit these days than anything else ! Thats sadly my point when I asked how do you measure your life?

Back to Christmas on a such sunny day today, I take it in stride it is about the gatherings , the gift giving , the food , the eggnog..and I should NOT get upset when I see dead trees laying on street corners for days after all is done and done! But I still do !

10849737_10152985970893969_8887535161588606360_n

Out of form from the norm I’m ? No ! I’m the norm ! I swear I ‘m the norm . I’m what normal is ! Normal is when one doesn’t understand how people can hurt the voiceless ! I don’t get it when people are careless about “hurt”! I don’t even want to get separated by the word ” kind ” because i expect ALL to be kind!

Have I become too radical from the rest, perhaps! Have I become cynical , perhaps! Well perhaps yes, and more as I have gotten older! this reminds of that brilliant song..

When I was young, it seemed that life was so wonderful,
A miracle, oh it was beautiful, magical.
And all the birds in the trees, well they’d be singing so happily,
Joyfully, playfully watching me.
But then they send me away to teach me how to be sensible,
Logical, responsible, practical.
And they showed me a world where I could be so dependable,
Clinical, intellectual, cynical.

There are times when all the world’s asleep,
The questions run too deep
For such a simple man.
Won’t you please, please tell me what we’ve learned
I know it sounds absurd
But please tell me who I am.

Now watch what you say or they’ll be calling you a radical,
Liberal, fanatical, criminal.
Won’t you sign up your name, we’d like to feel you’re
Acceptable, respectable, presentable, a vegetable!

At night, when all the world’s asleep,
The questions run so deep
For such a simple man.
Won’t you please, please tell me what we’ve learned
I know it sounds absurd
But please tell me who I am

1380630_10152005482833969_476316094_n
But isn’t this kind of strange to grow a beautiful tree..Water it ! Tend to it ! Then it grows tall ! Then it gets a bit stronger! It’s roots are getting stronger ! It’s becoming a great source for our environment and then, bang bang, they are cut for Christmas !! And decorated with STUFF to look only pretty. But the word pretty as light as it is in its entirety it can get done with a fake tree too..One you can use over and over and over!

10846117_10153006821303969_8538455791338640123_n

The word pretty ..Ah the word pretty ..My beloved mother barely ever said to me that I’m actually ” pretty ” ! “Pretty”  was never important in my household! And in actuality and surrounded with pretty ( to most people) It was ALWAYS about substance, even the pretty stuff ..if they didn’t have substance they would not be around.  My parents , mainly my mother in this case made sure of it ! Thank you mother , you an example on how I live my life today ..if there is no story and substance , indeed useless!

then there is no ” pretty ”

Anyway maturity ( call it ageing if you wish ) has given me a stronger and broader pair of wings to fly! Some may think my thoughts are a bit out there and when they do, it means they actually didn’t know me when I was younger! They need to ask few closer friends! Plus I’m an artist and will say and do anything I want , because ” frankly my dear I dont give a damn” ! Either you run with it or you don’t!

3 thoughts on “Call it wisdom!

Leave a Reply

