Rooted !

Show me the roots of your veins

Show me the roots of your veins
All twisted and tangled
My fingers crossed in grace’s name
We are born the makers of destiny, naked and mangled

Showered in the falling rain
Awash in light’s sinful pain
Smother me in the dark
Be still my beating heart

Cut off your earthy bliss
Forsook the deceiver’s breathy hiss
Saw my soul all full grown
That sorrowful hollow, called it home

And we’re only chasing powerlines
all torn down
Searching for our paradise
Alive in the sound

Where have your roots gone
Sing that old blues song
It aches deep in your marrow
All the world is a waking sparrow

Showered in the falling rain
Awash in light’s sinful pain
Smother me in the dark
Be still my beating heart

382777_10150585715783969_1482894065_n
Leave a Reply

